Suede were formed in South London in 1989 by Mat Osman (bassist), Brett Anderson (singer) and his then girlfriend, Justine Frischmann (rhythm guitar). They soon added guitarist Bernard Butler and were signed to RML Records. Though they failed to achieve any notable success in North America, they were considered to be one of the biggest influences on the Britpop movement. Their first album Suede (1993) became the fastest selling debut since Frankie Goes to Hollywood's Welcome To the Pleasuredome. In 1993, Suede won the Mercury Prize. A lawsuit forced the band to stop using the trademarked American name "Suede" (a fate also suffered by UK band The Charlatans/The Charlatans UK). For the North American market, the band would release all of their future albums under the name of The London Suede. Butler left the band during recording of Dog Man Star (1994) and was replaced by Richard Oakes. The Band were joined by keyboardist and backing vocalist Neil Codling in the making of their third album, Coming Up (1996). This would be the album which gained the group their most mainstream success. The first single from the album, "Trash" gave Suede their highest UK single position, reaching number 3. The fourth studio album, Head Music (1999) was something of a critical disappointment, though it once again took the band to number one on the album charts. Suede's fifth and final album New Morning was released in 2002 shortly before they announced their split. In 2004 Anderson and Butler formed a new band, The Tears, but only released one album before they announced the band were on temporary hiatus in 2006. Suede Studio Albums...

  • Suede (1993) BP Rating 7/10
  • Dog Man Star (1994) 8/10
  • Coming Up (1996) 10/10
  • Head Music (1999) 7/10
  • New Morning (2002) 7/10

Suede Links...